Aggravated DWI Lawyer in Massachusetts
When it comes to a charge of aggravated DWI in the state of Massachusetts, the penalties and consequences can be severe. DWI and DUI charges alone carry stiff penalties for drivers who are charged in Massachusetts; however, consequences are compounded for citizens if extenuating circumstances lead to a charge of aggravated DWI. From increased fines, longer license suspension, and jail time as possible punishments handed down by the court system, anyone facing an aggravated DWI charge needs to understand the current laws in Massachusetts.
What Warrants an Aggravated Charge?
For a DWI arrest to be deemed an aggravated charge, certain conditions or circumstances must have occurred at the time of arrest. In Massachusetts, those circumstances include a child under the age of 12 being present in the vehicle at the time of arrest, an accident occurs resulting in bodily injury, or if a death has occurred due to the negligence or recklessness of the situation. You may also face aggravated DWI charges if your blood alcohol content is extremely high at the time of arrest or if you are driving with a suspended license. If a death has happened as a result of an aggravated DWI incident, that charge can actually be increased to a felony motor vehicle homicide.
Typical Sentences for Aggravated DWI
Depending on the unique circumstances, there are different guidelines for punishment handed down by Massachusetts courts pertaining to jail time and loss of license. If a child under 12 is in the car, child endangerment charges are possible and loss of license for one year also. 90 days in jail is also a possibility. If the incident led to bodily injury, the accused could be facing 6 months to a maximum 10 years in prison along with loss of license for 2 years. Facing aggravated DWI that resulted in a death carries the most severe penalty with 30 days to a possible prison sentence of 15 years. If someone is found guilty of an offense this severe in Massachusetts, the accused party may lose their drivers license for 15 years. The fines for aggravated DWI vary and can be excessive if there is property damage involved.
An Attorney Can Help With Reduction of Charge or Dismissal
Regardless of the circumstances that may have led to an aggravated DWI arrest and court appearance, the unique circumstances of your case can a make a world of difference in the outcome. No two cases are ever the same and therefore, the sentence handed down can vary greatly. When you are given fines that can be financially crippling and/or jail time, any help from an experienced lawyer can make or break your future. Even if you are able to avoid jail time, the loss of your license can hinder your employment and lead to financial strain beyond what the fines may lead to. Any combination of penalties for aggravated DWI will also ultimately affect your family life and your reputation in various ways.
The assistance and skilled representation of criminal defense attorney Paul Garrity can truly help safeguard your finances, your right to drive, your employment, and your reputation. A thorough investigation of the incident and extenuating circumstances can uncover elements of your situation that may help you get the harsh aggravated DWI charges reduced or possibly dismissed altogether. When you are facing charges this severe that can carry penalties that may affect the rest of your life, you owe it to yourself to invest in an aggressive and highly successful attorney who will be your advocate for freedom and a vigilant protector of your rights.
Call today for a free consultation.603-434-4106
E-mail me at firstname.lastname@example.org
AREAS OF PRACTICE
- DWI / DUI LAWS IN NH
- DRUG DEFENSE IN NH
- SEX OFFENCES
- DOMESTIC ASSAULT
- JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
- VIOLENT CRIMES
- MOTOR VEHICLE OFFENSES
- HABITUAL OFFENDER
- ALS HEARINGS NH
- AGGRAVATED DWI
- DRUG POSSESSION IN MA
- DUI / DWI BREATH TEST
- DWI/OUI LAWS IN MA
- FIELD SOBRIETY TEST IN NH
- SR-22 INSURANCE LAWS IN NH